Author Topic: Pride and Bad Grammar  (Read 5189 times)

Offline Yukona [The League of Extraordinary Bonopeople]

• Staring at the Sun
  • too much is not enough
Pride and Bad Grammar
« on: March 03, 2011, 12:03:21 AM »
"One man come in the name of love...one man come and go..."

Is there a reason for pluralizing the verb? :/

Offline poliglotta

• Stateless
  • Time won't take the boy out of this man.
Re: Pride and Bad Grammar
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2011, 06:27:49 AM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
"One man come in the name of love...one man come and go..."

Is there a reason for pluralizing the verb? :/

I have always wondered the very same thing. ???

Offline LoveSupreme

• Elevated
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2011, 08:33:57 AM »
Sounds catchier?

Also he's kinda speaking in slang and I'm not an expert historian but maybe they were in the Caribbean when they wrote this & theres a Bob Marley One Love vibe. So thats what I think.

Offline Georgia

• Elevated
  • Contradiction is Balance
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2011, 08:52:32 AM »
Artistic license?

Offline ian ryan

• Staring at the Sun
  • Don't worry, baby, it'll be alright
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2011, 09:53:56 AM »
^ this

Offline Droo

• Traffic Cop (Rue du Marais)
  • don't expect, suggest
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2011, 12:42:54 PM »
It's less egregious than getting a vitally important historical fact wrong about your subject.

Offline Georgia

• Elevated
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2011, 04:21:46 PM »
It's less egregious than getting a vitally important historical fact wrong about your subject.

Artistic license again.   ;)

Offline Droo

• don't expect, suggest
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2011, 04:53:35 PM »
You don't take artistic licence with history, especially when your message is hero-worship of a historical figure.

Offline Georgia

• Elevated
« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2011, 08:26:06 PM »