Author Topic: Has U2 Finally Become Lyrically Bankrupt?  (Read 14693 times)

Offline dirtdrybonesandstone

• Party Girl/Boy
Re: Has U2 Finally Become Lyrically Bankrupt?
« Reply #45 on: January 31, 2013, 06:29:11 PM »
I disagree Jick Bon Jovi.    NLOTH is loaded with great lyrics:

"Im a traffic cop, Rue du Marais, the sirens wailing but its me that wants to get away".  -- I remember hearing this for the first time and thinking, I have way too much in common with this guy.

"I was speeding on the subway, through the stations of the cross, every eye looking every other way, counting down 'til the pain would stop".  --  Painful/powerful stuff..

"From the womb, my first cry, it was a joyful noise"   --   That line alone is a masterpiece.

I think the problem is with everyone OTHER than Bono.    Case in point, "Fez-Being Born".    That's a song that isnt necessarily lyrically "brilliant", yet I think it's the best song on there.   

Offline U2runnr

• Headache in a Suitcase
  • Vision over visibility
« Reply #46 on: January 31, 2013, 06:34:06 PM »
"The stone was semi-precious
We were barely conscious
Two souls too smart to be
In the realm of certainty
Even on our wedding day

We set ourselves on fire
Oh God, do not deny her
Itís not if I believe in love
If love believes in me
Oh, believe in me

At the moment of surrender
I folded to my knees
I did not notice the passers-by
And they did not notice me

Iíve been in every black hole
At the altar of the dark star
My bodyís now a begging bowl
Thatís begging to get back, begging to get back
To my heart
To the rhythm of my soul
To the rhythm of my unconsciousness
To the rhythm that yearns
To be released from control "

Masterpiece.

• Party Girl/Boy
« Reply #47 on: January 31, 2013, 06:50:39 PM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
I think, however, their best lyrics came from the Joshua Tree era. There isn't one song there that has bad lyrics; all of them are uniquely great!