Author Topic: The Three Themes of NLOTH  (Read 945 times)

Offline jjcruiser

• Intellectual Tortoise
The Three Themes of NLOTH
« on: February 18, 2009, 07:43:10 PM »
Here's my review of the album.  I've had about 12 hours to digest it and have listened to most of the songs 3 or 4 times; some of them (I'm looking at you Magnificent) about 10-12.  I'm not a professional so bear with my rambling (or don't bother).

First of all, I read somewhere that this was not a cohesive album.  Except for the fact it has a few similar loops and characteristics, I tend to agree.  But as I mentioned in another thread, I think cohesiveness is overrated.  Give me your best shot, guys, even if it's a scatter shot, rather than tight bursts that miss.  Even so, I feel like the songs fall into one of three themes:  (i) stadium-soarers; (ii) poprockys; and (iii) introspective-retrospection.

Second, I think this has some of the best melodies and guitars of anything since...uh...ever?  I don't know how they will hold up 5-10 years from now, but I seriously think it has some of the best melodies they've ever written.

Third, I feel a little let down by the production.  Specifically, I felt like the "whoa-ohh-aahs" are overdone.  Words, boys, preferably in English.  I also am stressed by the overdubbing/multitracking of Bono on the choruses.  I don't know if they got 17 Bono's to sing, or that's Edge, Larry, and Brian Eno joining him, but it's too much, and if you listen to the tracks it doesn't happen, you realize it was unnecessary.  This makes me think some of those tracks, like Unknown Caller, will sound a lot better live than on the album.  We'll see.  Those are really my only two general criticisms.  Nothing like Pop where I still get frustrated at the mix on Discotheque.  It's more subtle than that and doesn't ruin anything for me. 

Anyway, onto the specific songs: