Author Topic: Not to Early - General Admission Line SOP  (Read 6988 times)

Offline sceptic

• Refugee
Re: Not to Early - General Admission Line SOP
« Reply #30 on: March 20, 2015, 06:21:09 AM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
I saw my first U2 show in Sunrise Musical Theatre for the WAR tour.  I sat in the nosebleed section... I graduated to a closer seat for the Unforgettable Fire tour but still nothing like being up close.  I've had seats for about 20 U2 shows.  It is great to not have the "pressure" you refer to when going to the show.  What you gain by having the ability to "chill" and "relax" you give up in other ways.  I agree with you that GA is the ONLY way to see U2.  But the queing experience is like nothing else.  Getting in line to "camp out" (at venues that still let you) with fellow U2 fans is part of the overall event.  I've met some incredible people whom I have stayed friends with years after the shows.

There is no way to describe being in the GA area in NYC after 9/11, with FDNY on the stage... Every U2 show seems to offer different pinnacle moments just like that... Seeing 'Unknown Caller' before it was pulled from the set list.  You get it...  Preaching to the choir... I don't need Bono's sweat on me but to be in a sea of U2 fans who are all there for the single purpose is religious.  And close is never close enough to the action.  I can hang in a bar with fans after the Circus has left town. 

Enjoy your shows!
Whay was Unknown Caller pulled from the setlist?

Yeah, like most of NLOTH songs, I believe. But 'Boots' remained, if I remember well. Go figure...

Offline briscoetheque

• Traffic Cop (Rue du Marais)
  • R-E-S-T-E-C-P
« Reply #31 on: March 20, 2015, 04:09:56 PM »