Author Topic: New Year's Day, Re-Interpreted.  (Read 1521 times)

Offline Moshepop

• Babyface
  • Face Pressed Up Against The Glass
New Year's Day, Re-Interpreted.
« on: August 03, 2017, 07:19:17 PM »
Hi All

El 20 De Mayo (New Year's Day) - For Venezuela (An adaptation in Spanish)
Video: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

WITH ENGLISH CLOSED CAPTIONS

My home country of Venezuela, as many of you might have heard, is going through a very tough time. In May 20th of this year, a Saturday,  a month and half into the latest protests, I woke up feeling really sad, concerned, and frustrated about the situation. My book of U2 chords was handy, and I started playing, I got to New Year's Day and what came out of me was not the regular English version but I started adapting the lyrics in Spanish to the situation in Venezuela, by the end of the day I had a complete adapted version of the song in Spanish and I recorded it in my phone, I liked the results and shared it with a few friends, and soon I had quorum from friends musicians and my brother to go and record it. It all happened quickly. We filmed everything without planning or knowing what we were going to do, but now after two months or so, I finished this video of the song which I hope all of you watch and share. My intention is to raise awareness about the situation in Venezuela. U2 is going to Colombia in October and the fate of these two countries has always been very much in relation. For example, last week tens of thousands of people crossed the Colombian border in search for better living conditions.

I don't want to write too long here, the video speaks for itself, please please please take the time to watch and share.

Greetings from Miami

Moises
« Last Edit: August 03, 2017, 08:52:18 PM by Moshepop »

Offline WookieeWarrior10

• Elevated
  • Every Artist is a Cannibal, Every Poet is a Thief.
Re: New Year's Day, Re-Interpreted.
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2017, 12:32:36 AM »