Author Topic: New member ... from NZ :)  (Read 647 times)

Offline TheHedge

• Stranger in a Strange Land
New member ... from NZ :)
« on: August 09, 2014, 04:26:17 AM »
So, just joined up ... got here by way of looking up various artists who respect the band, specifically The Edge. I'm primarily a guitarist by trade as it were, and have the requisite SDD3000 (x2) in my rig - basically reassembling the classic 80s rig of the UF-era. That was my first CD as well, and have been listening to them since 7 years old, which means ... 33 years come Aug 16th. It's a bit of a joke among my muso friends that my birthday is the same month as Edge, in fact, his being Aug 8, add the month of August 8, to the date of his birthday, which makes 16, and hey presto, my birthday "So you must be the Edge in Another Time, Another Place" as it were ;)

Favourite Albums: UF, followed by October, and War, and Boy - perhaps the classic era in reverse you might say obviously. But hey ... they're all great actually, also obviously! There's certainly some spectacular moments in my opinion on Zooropa and Achtung Baby, certainly in terms of soundscapes ... but Unforgettable Fire is always the album I name whenever someone asks that question "If you could have only one album on a desert island ..."
Favourite Songs to play: Streets, Bad, Pride, Out of Control, Electric Co., Surrender, Unforgettable Fire, Magnificent, One Tree Hill (which is a very special song for us Kiwi's since it was a tribute to Greg Carroll, a Kiwi who ended up being Bonos assistant on the road and more besides, and ended up on the Joshua Tree - eventually, it was first issued only in NZ. A couple of members of the band came over for Greg's funeral which was held in Wanganui, out of personal respect to what he meant to the band as a whole.