Author Topic: Edge’s Rig Rundown  (Read 1045 times)

Offline Tortuga

• Intellectual Tortoise
Edge’s Rig Rundown
« on: July 19, 2018, 10:18:23 PM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline miryclay

• Up With the Sun
Re: Edge’s Rig Rundown
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2018, 10:40:09 PM »
Probably the best Dallas video ever.

Offline miryclay

• Up With the Sun
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2018, 08:10:09 AM »
It has references to both cats and dogs.

Offline laoghaire

• Staring at the Sun
  • I love the peaceful life.
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2018, 04:26:23 PM »
I can play a few chords but I'm no musician and certainly not a guitar tech nerd. So when I see this video floating around and notice it's ONE HOUR LONG I'm always like naaaaaah.

Last night I clicked "play" on it though I really needed to go to sleep.

It was the greatest! One hour of Dallas talking indeciperable guitar tech geek stuff felt like ten very fun minutes. He explains the context of the gear very well, so it's not just gushing about a thingamabob but WHY it's so great. He explains how Edge sees his tools, how and why he doesn't customize a guitar but just lets it have its inherent strengths. How much attention he pays to detail - clearly that goes beyond the equipment into the songwriting and studio recordings.

Dallas is a complete delight and there's no wonder at all that Edge has kept this gem all these years. I bet other guitarists want Dallas. But maybe other guitarists don't need Dallas.

Anyway, if you're thinking you need to be a gear geek to enjoy this, no way. Watch it!

Offline Powderworker

• Babyface
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2018, 11:27:29 PM »
He is a great guy.  We had breakfast with him the day after the Dallas show of the Joshua Tree tour.

Offline skelter

• Staring at the Sun
  • Drowning is no sin
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2018, 06:58:41 PM »