Author Topic: Is the sound of concerts too loud?  (Read 1762 times)

rockatansky

Re: Is the sound of concerts too loud?
« Reply #15 on: October 19, 2018, 09:23:19 AM »
It's a rock 'n roll show folks. It's supposed to be loud.  U2 has to crank up the volume to reach a massive audience. U2 360 tour at the Rose Bowl had over 97,000 people in the audience, many of course way in the back of the stadium.  U2's got to reach them.  That's the beauty of a U2 concert.

I've been attending concerts for over 40 years.  If you're too close, then wear earplugs.  But complaining about a loud U2 rock 'n roll show is ridiculous.  I saw U2 in their 1983 War Tour in a venue with just over 300 people.  The sound was loud but perfect for that venue.  U2 has to adjust sound for the venue and that means reaching everyone.  I say let it rip, the bigger the audience, the louder the better.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2018, 09:29:34 AM by rockatansky »

Offline Mark_Qiu

• Stranger in a Strange Land
« Reply #16 on: October 19, 2018, 01:22:42 PM »
Folks, what Iím complaining about is mainly not the volume, instead, itís the sound effect. Iíve been to concerts in small and big venues which were also incredibly loud, yet in the same time, not making me uncomfortable. The key to that, imho, is the high frequency. As long as the volume rises up from 60dB, the high frequency sound will be more sensitive compared to other frequency sound to human ears. To make it comfortable to human ears, high frequency must be cut down more as the volume rises.

For example, a song sounds alright when played at 60dB and the equalizer is set to a certain parameter, and if you turn the volume up to, say like 110dB, and leave the equalizer alone, not doing anything about it, ITíS GONNA SOUND BAD! Try it! You will say ďwow that sounds too sharp and hurting!Ē. You gotta work on the equalizer! Such as 1k -5dB, 2k -7dB, 4k -10dB. etc.