Author Topic: How U2 Changed the Way I Experience Music  (Read 722 times)

Offline hollywoodswag

• Stateless
How U2 Changed the Way I Experience Music
« on: June 16, 2019, 08:14:34 AM »
I've been a playlist builder for years, being all about cherry-picking my favorite songs and building nice hodgepodges of material from various artists. Songs would cycle in and out over time, and certain numbers would get slapped on repeat until I played them to death.

That was true for a number of years after I picked up my first complete album, but a couple of years ago, shortly before the 30th anniversary release of The Joshua Tree, iTunes put all the U2 albums on a great sale and I decided to start things off by getting the deluxe edition of Achtung Baby. I decided to give it a shot and play it the whole way through, and it quickly became apparent that I had spent years glossing over or outright ignoring swaths of incredible music. Mind you, I had played plenty of albums start to finish and was skeptical of the value of greatest hits compilations except as introductions to the work of various artists, but listening to albums in their entirety was not really standard practice. With the purchase of this album, that all changed.

At first, I was listening to full albums in the interest of discovery, merely seeking more songs with which to fill playlists and simply appreciating an opportunity to explore more musical territory, and what's more, I've taken that approach to other artists. I've plowed through the albums of The Beach Boys, The Rolling Stones, Eagles, and more in the past few years, with many more still ongoing, and my mega playlist of songs I enjoy has grown and grown.