Author Topic: First time doing GA, and I have quite a few questions! (Croke Park specifically)  (Read 1140 times)

Offline Trillian

• Stateless
I've been to see U2 once before on the Vertigo tour, but I was in the stands and so I'm pretty new to the whole General Admission system. I'd like to get a position as close to the stage as possible; not only because it'd be great to be so close to the band, but also because I'm not very tall and would like as clear a view as possible. So if you'll bear with me, there are a lot of things I'd like to know before the tour starts, if possible specific to Croke Park stadium.

Firstly, camping overnight: Is it done/allowed/worth it? I remember from the last tour one time that queuing was only allowed from 10 am on the day of the show, so clearing this issue up would be very helpful!

Secondly, if there is the possibility of camping overnight, some of the group I'm going with will probably be against the idea. What is the stance on some of the group getting their number the day before and staying in a hotel while the rest of their party camp out? Would it be looked upon as against etiquette if they returned the next day and took up their previous spot with the rest of the group?

Thirdly (and still connected with the camping out idea, so if question one is a resounding 'no' it won't really matter) - the next day, if you want to dump your stuff (sleeping bags and whatnot) in the hotel and get freshened up et al, and do it one at a time so that at least one or two people are in the queue in your absence, is that considered bad manners? I don't really see why it would be, but I wouldn't want to cause offence to the rest of the queuers! And I'm guessing that going off to get lunch and bringing it back is standard procedure as long as there's someone there to mind your spot?