Author Topic: The Embarrassment of Premature Evaluation  (Read 4570 times)

Offline The Exile

• Up With the Sun
  • It's all ball bearings nowadays.
The Embarrassment of Premature Evaluation
« on: March 19, 2009, 09:44:33 PM »
[Yes, the innuendo is intentional.]

When I was a student pursuing my Masters degree, one of my history professors used to warn us against what he called “diachronic historical enquiry,” by which he meant comparing the thoughts of a prominent figure in one period with those of another who lived many years earlier. The reason for this danger, he insisted, was that when a few centuries separate the men under consideration, it’s very difficult to compare them with any objectivity due to their different time periods.

The same is true with U2 (to a much smaller degree, of course). The desire to compare and contrast NLOTH with The Joshua Tree or Achtung Baby is almost impossible while NLOTH is still so new. The reason for this, I think, is that not enough time has elapsed for the new songs to take on the iconic, even mythical qualities that surround the tracks on JT and AB. In other words, many of the same criticisms that people are leveling upon NLOTH (especially when comparing it with U2’s two masterpieces) could have, and probably were, made about all their albums when they were brand new.

A couple examples….

Many have compared Magnificent with Where the Streets Have No Name, saying the former just doesn’t measure up. But not so fast. Streets is a pretty simple pop song like Magnificent is, and by Bono’s own admission its lyrics aren’t that great. “I want to run, I want to hide”? Not exactly Shakespeare. Sure, it’s great now that it has had the time to sink into our souls, but we mustn’t forget that the same may be true of Magnificent if given the time. I mean, one talks about building love and then burning it down, the other talks about love making its mark and then healing its own scar. Pretty similar if you ask me.