Author Topic: The u2 I know and love  (Read 3384 times)

Offline Vervefloyd

• Refugee
Re: The u2 I know and love
« Reply #30 on: September 15, 2009, 05:37:51 PM »
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
The U2 i know and love will play whatever THEY want and not listen to the fans. If they are interested and motivated by the music then the performances will be exceptional - as anyone who has seen this tour so far will testify! play whatever you like guys - just keep on playing!  ;)

That theory depends on if you're sold on the fact that the band is actually playing what they want.  I for one don't buy that.  As a musician I get urges and just play stuff.  Once U2 starts a tour very little appears along the way outside of the usual suspects (NYD, UTEOTW, BAD, Mysterious Ways, etc).  Your Blue Room was a nice welcome surprise but come on you know they want to play other stuff.  It's just human nature.  U2 creates a show and then decides not to deviate much at all.  Many bands do that but that trend is starting to disappear.  Imagine if they opened their eyes to how great and deep their catalog is and how it would do wonders for them to open up a little and it would bring exposure to songs that casual fans might not know.  Make no mistake about it, dropping Pride last night was because they were bored and knew it was sounding flat.  I'm sure they have been contemplating if with the Larry side saying we have to play it and the Bono/Edge side saying lets give it a rest.  And it was the best decision of the tour so far.  Springsteen, REM, Radiohead, Dave Matthews, Pearl Jam - they all rotate quite heavily now in the internet age.  And they are megabands with many popular songs.  Last night was a start in the right direction.  All I've ever asked from U2 is to follow their gut a little more than their head.  That's how I evaluate bands in terms of if I want to see them live nowadays.  Not everyone does that but Im a huge live show collector of probably 50 ban