Author Topic: Worth a 22-year wait  (Read 1205 times)

nolinehumper69

Worth a 22-year wait
« on: October 06, 2009, 01:03:19 PM »
So my quest to see U2 in concert was going to end. I had the date marked down. My plans were rough but set. I was headed to Hampton, Va. on either Dec. 11 or 12. This was early December 1987, mind you.

Problem was, I was a sophomore at Garner High School, and this thing called history was in progress. The Trojans were deep in the NCHSAA 4-A Football Playoffs. Anthony Barbour, Hal Stewart, the no-name defense, Hal Stewart's old lucky socks. Those were the things that were first in the minds of all Trojan fans. Everything else -- actual school work, family, the meteoric rise of the world's greatest band -- suddenly was on the back burner, especially after the Trojans held at the goal line in the Eastern 4-A Championship against Northern Durham, setting up a date with Charlotte Harding for the state championship - on the weekend of Dec. 11-12, 1987.

So long, Bono, hello Charlotte. The "dirty old dogs," as Hal called us, were all off to Charlotte for the state championship game. So long Hampton, hello C-Town.

Most of you know the story by now: AB (Barbour) scored on the first play from scrimmage and two-and-a-half hours later, the Trojans ruled the 4-A football world.

I thought about that night a bit as I settled into my seat at Carter-Finley Stadium Saturday night. Sure there'd been other tries at seeing U2 in concert. Ten years after my first attempt I was set to attend the PopMart tour at Carter-Finley but that show was cancelled when the video screen was struck by lightning three nights before in Washington D.C., prompting the cancellation of the Raleigh show.

In 1992 and 2001, I couldn't get tickets to the shows in Charlotte. I could have gotten tickets, of course, but didn't want to scalp them.